A user image is a virtual machine disk image that is used for creating new virtual machines or as a backup copy. There are two ways to create a new image.

Image files are created in the /tmp temporary directory on the server with VMmanager, and then moved to the image storage directory (by default — /image). Before creating an image, make sure that there is enough free space on the hard disk of the VMmanager server.

When creating a user image, the /home directory and manually created user accounts will be removed from it.

Creating from the list of images


Follow the steps below:

  1. Go to TemplatesVM images → Add.
  2. Select a Virtual machine to create a copy of its disk.
    The New image name will be generated automatically in the following format: <virtual machine name>_<current time in UNIX format>.
  3. Add Notes if needed.
  4. Select an Image owner.
  5. Select the users who can Access the newly created image: Owner or All.
  6. Click Create and Restart. VMmanager will restart the virtual machine.

Creating from the list of virtual machines or from a virtual machine page


Follow the steps below:

  1. Go to Virtual machines →  menu → Create VM image or go to a virtual machine page → menu → Create VM image.
  2. Specify the New image name.
  3. Add Notes if needed.
  4. Select an Image owner.
  5. Select the users who can Access the newly created image: Owner or All.
  6. Click Create and Restart. VMmanager will restart the virtual machine.

The network settings specified in the virtual machine are not written to the VM image. Only the number of added IP addresses is taken into account. Therefore, when creating a virtual machine from the image, new free IP addresses will be assigned to it.

Managing images


In the cluster node card you can manage the created images. Possible actions:

  • copy the image to another cluster node;
  • migrate (move) the image to another cluster node;
  • delete the image.

To manage images, enter Nodes → select the node → Disk spaceVM images → select the images → select the action (delete, copy, migrate). When copying or migrating, specify to which cluster you want to copy or migrate the image.

Section interface