Vepp Documentation

Backup copies

A backup copy in  Vepp is a copy of all the files of your website and its databases. The copy is saved in a separate archive.

Backup copies help:

  • restore information in the case of failure;
  • restore a website when importing it between servers;
  • save data in the case of the server, application, or equipment failure.

We recommend creating backup copies every week. 

How to create a backup copy


You have to create backup copies manually. With Vepp, you can create a backup copy and save it to Google Disk or a Local storage.

We recommend keeping your backup copies on Google Disk.

Google disk:

  1. Go to My websites → click on the website name → click on Backup copy.
  2. Click on Create a backup copy and select Google Disk.
  3. Log in to your Google account

    Note

    If you don't have an account with Google, you first have to create it. 

Vepp will create a database dump, copy all the website files, and move them to the .tar.gz archive. 

To change the Google account, in the list of backup copies go to Settings Connect other.

Local storage:

If you select a Local storage, backups will be stored on the same server where website data are located.

  1. Go to My websites → click on the website name → click on Backup copy.
  2. Click on Create a backup copy and select Local storage.

Vepp will create a database dump, copy all the website files, and move them to the .tar.gz archive. 

Note

Saving backup copies to Local storage may lead to data loss.

How to download a copy


To download a backup copy:

  1. Go to Websites  click on the website name → Backup copy.
  2. Click on the menu  of the backup copy. 
  3. Click on Download copy. The copy will be downloaded immediately. 

How to restore a website 


To restore your website from the backup copy: 

  1. Go to Websites → click on the website name → Backup
  2. Click on the menu  of the backup copy. 
  3. Click on RestoreVepp will delete all existing files of the website and change them into the files from the selected archive. The database will be restored from the dump of the selected backup copy. 

How to delete a copy


To delete a backup copy:

  1. Go to Websites  click on the website name → Backup copy.
  2. Click on the menu  of the backup copy. 
  3. Click on Delete and confirm the operation. 

You can delete several copies at once. Select the copies and click on Delete at the bottom of the page.